RSS

Vanilla Extract: SOOO much better to make your own!

29 Aug

Making your own vanilla extract is so easy and honestly, much more cost effective than buying it at the store. It took all of 5 minutes, once I had all the ingredients. Most of my inspiration came from here. Here’s what you do:

 

Ingredients
80 proof alcohol: either vodka, bourbon or rum, or a combination of all. I used vodka
3 vanilla beans per cup of alcohol

 

Directions
Get a high quality mason or jam/jelly jar and make sure it is clean. Use a sharp paring knife to cut lengthwise down the center of the vanilla beans, leaving about an inch at the top of the vanilla bean uncut. Then, for every 1 cup of liquor, use 3 vanilla beans. Put the liquor and beans in the jar and store in a dark location for 2 months, shaking once a week. You are done! It is really that easy.

One more thing. The great thing about extracts, especially vanilla is that it is basically self generating. As you find yourself getting low, just add more vodka/liquor and store for another month or two. After about 3 refills, add new beans.

As for the vanilla, I did A LOT of research on where to get them as they can be so expensive. My research took me here. I got the Madagascar Extract Beans as I have read these are best. They have been amazing and given the price, I got a pound and shared with friends :-).

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 29, 2011 in Extracts & Infusions

 

Leave a comment